Matthews Family Farm of Yadkin County has won the annual North Carolina Soybean Yield Contest with an entry of 86.1 bushels per acre.

Kevin Matthews received the top yield award from Dean Johnny Wynne of the College of Agriculture & Life Sciences at North Carolina State University and Commissioner Steve Troxler of the North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

The soybean yield contest is administered by North Carolina State University Cooperative Extension and the awards are sponsored by the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association. Matthews received a plaque and an expense-paid trip to Commodity Classic.

Medlin Farms of Union County was runner-up with a yield of 85.3 bushels per acre and Circle S Ranch of Union County received the third place award with a yield of 81.6 bushels per acre.

In the annual Most Efficient Yield Contest, Medlin Farms placed first in the state with a per bushel cost of $4.09.

Drewand Everett Medlin received the first place award from Dean Wynne and Commissioner Troxler and Medlin Farms also received an expense-paid trip to Commodity Classic.

The Most Efficient Yield Contest rewards producers for achieving the lowest cost of production for soybeans on a per bushel basis.