“The clear signal sent to the investment community is that the U.S. commitment to the continued evolution of the biofuels industry is tenuous.”

Additionally, Coleman pointed to the combined efforts of lawmakers and the entire ethanol industry — existing producers and emerging technologies — to responsibly address budget concerns and transform current ethanol tax policy as the productive and thoughtful approach needed.

“While the ethanol industry itself recognizes the need to reform ethanol tax policy, and continues to work with Senators Grassley, Thune, Klobuchar and others on a forward-thinking transition away from the current program, passage of the Coburn/Feinstein proposal would destabilize the existing industry and derail a bipartisan effort to more aggressively promote advanced ethanol development and commercialization,” Coleman wrote.

“We recognize there is broad-based political support for reforming ethanol tax policy,” Coleman concluded. “Both the existing and advanced ethanol industries are committed to updating and reducing the cost of U.S. ethanol tax incentives. We encourage you to reject the proposal offered by Senators Coburn and Feinstein, and hope that you will work with those who are trying to improve rather than terminate a program that has been critical to the U.S. energy portfolio.”

About the Advanced Ethanol Council:The AEC represents worldwide leaders in the effort to develop and commercialize next generation ethanol fuels.

In partnership with the Renewable Fuels Association, the AEC is focused on developing and implementing responsible policies that accelerate the commercialization of advanced ethanol technologies and expands the market for ethanol use. The founding members of the AEC are: Abengoa Bioenergy, BlueFire Renewables, Coskata, Enerkem, Fulcrum BioEnergy, Inbicon, Iogen, Mascoma, Osage Bio Energy and Qteros.