Jimmy Thomas of Timberlake, N.C., was elected president of the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association at the 44th annual meeting in New Bern.

Bernard Lennon of Evergreen, N.C., was elected vice-president. Association members also elected Jeff Peed of Aurora, N.C., as secretary and Bobby Joe Fisher of Rocky Mount, N.C,. as treasurer.

"I am thrilled to have been elected as the president of the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association," said Thomas. "I look forward to serving the soybean farmers of North Carolina and will work to ensure their best interests are served in the areas of research, marketing and advocacy in 2011 and beyond."

Morris Shambley of Efland, N.C., Bert Dixon of Maury, N.C., Reginald Strickland of Mt. Olive, N.C. and Jeff Tyson of Nashville, N.C., were also elected to serve on the executive committee.

Soybean producers also elected several farmers to the board of directors. New directors elected in 2011 are: Kenneth Bartlett of LaGrange, N.C., Jimmy Harrell of Snow Hill, N.C., David Heath of Dover, N.C. and Henry Walker of Mocksville, N.C.

The following currently serving directors were re-elected to the board: Bryan Foster of Roper, N.C., John Fleming of Halifax, N.C., Matt Grissom of Henderson, N.C., Derek Potter of Grantsboro, N.C., Brian Stallings of Elizabeth City, N.C., Reginald Strickland of Mt. Olive, N.C. and Sam Walton of Lumber Bridge, N.C.

Directors serve a three-year term and are responsible for overseeing the research, marketing and communications work of the association, as well as the association’s advocacy work on behalf of soybean farmers.