At the request of the Georgia Peanut Commission, Georgia Farm Bureau held nomination meetings Dec. 18-19 to fill three positions on the GPC Board of Directors that begin in May.

The term for each position is three years.

On Dec. 18 peanut growers in the GPC District 2 re-nominated incumbent Armond Morris of Irwin County, who currently chairs the GPC, and Wes Shannon of Tift County, who chaired the 2012 Georgia Farm Bureau Peanut Committee and has served on the National Peanut Board. Both are Farm Bureau members.

Since more than one person was nominated for the District 2 seat, a mail ballot will be conducted at a future date to be determined by the GPC.

GPC's District 2 includes Atkinson, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Thomas, Tift, Turner and Worth counties.

During the District 4 nomination meeting held Dec. 19, Rodney Dawson of Pulaski County was re-nominated without opposition for the District 4 position which represents the counties of Bleckley, Crisp, Dodge, Dooly, Houston, Laurens, Pulaski, Telfair, Twiggs, Wheeler, Wilcox and Wilkinson.

Donald Chase of Macon County was re-nominated without opposition for the District 5 seat during a nomination meeting held Dec. 19. The GPC District 5 includes Chattahoochee, Clay, Lee, Macon, Marion, Peach, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, Terrell and Webster counties.

The Georgia peanut production area is divided into five districts based on acreage distribution and geographical location with one board member representing each district for a three-year term.

The GPC conducts numerous activities that promote Georgia's peanut industry, support industry research and educate producers about industry issues.