Eleven Georgia Farm Bureau members were named to American Farm Bureau Federation Commodity Committees in 2011, including Andrew Thompson of Brooks County, who will serve as chairman of the AFBF Swine Committee.

The committees provide farmer input in the AFBF policy development process and make recommendations relative to their respective commodities to the AFBF Board of Directors.

GFB members serving on the committees are: Donald McCorkle Sr., McDuffie County (ag nursery and greenhouse); Terry Bramlett, Fannin County (aquaculture); Michael Williams, Bleckley County (cotton); John W. Mixon, Pike County (forestry); Bobby Rowell, Brantley County (honey/apiculture); Wes Shannon, Tift County (peanut); Larry Cooley, Crawford County (poultry); Mike Bunn, Walker County (sheep and goat) and Lamar Vickers, Berrien County (tobacco).

Ten GFB members were named alternates for the committees. They are: Matt Bottoms, Pike County (ag nursery and greenhouse); Harvey Weldon, Harris County (aquaculture); Eddie Green, Dooly County (cotton); Jimmy Kennedy, Hancock County (forestry); Gary Rentz, Brooks County (honey/apiculture); Mike Lucas, Bleckley County (peanut); John "Bubba" Johnson, Mitchell County (poultry); Charles D. Batten, Washington County (sheep and goat); Dania Devane, Randolph County (swine) and Ricky Tucker, Berrien County (tobacco).