The Georgia Farm Bureau Federation recognized the best of the organization’s volunteers and county chapters during an awards program held Dec. 4 at the GFB 73rd annual convention on Jekyll Island.

The state award winners were honored for the programs they conducted this past year to promote agriculture.

“Statewide, our county Farm Bureau volunteers have worked faithfully this year to educate their communities about Georgia agriculture by hosting legislative meetings, Farm-City Week events, farm safety programs, farm tours, and Ag in the Classroom activities along with numerous other events that highlight the contribution farming makes to Georgia’s economy,” GFB President Zippy Duvall said.

“While we appreciate the work all of our volunteers did to promote agriculture this year, our award winners are being recognized for the extraordinary passion they displayed while promoting agriculture and Farm Bureau.”

Georgia Farm Bureau named a McKemie Award winner — the highest honor given to a county in recognition of its outstanding member programs — from each of its three membership categories.

Crawford County Farm Bureau received the McKemie Award for the zero to 1,500-member division.Edd Harris is president of the Crawford County Farm Bureau.

Greene County Farm Bureau won the McKemie Award for the 1,501 to 2,600-member division. Charles Crumbley is president of the Greene County Farm Bureau.

Newton County received the award in the 2,601 plus-member division. Brent Galloway is president of the Newton County Farm Bureau.

The McKemie Award is a memorial to one of the organization’s former presidents, W.J. McKemie. 

Finalists in the McKemie competition, listed in alphabetical order, for the zero to 1,500-member division were: Bacon, Heard, Jasper, Meriwether, Upson and Wilcox counties.

Finalists for the 1,501 to 2,600-member division were: Berrien, Bibb, Floyd, Franklin, Harris, Pike, Polk, Spalding and Washington counties.

Finalists in the 2,601 plus-member division were: Barrow, Chattooga, Cherokee, Emanuel, Habersham, Henry, McDuffie, Madison and Stephens counties.