The field for one of Kentucky Farm Bureau’s top honors has been narrowed to three finalists as preliminary judging of the 2013 “Farmer of the Year” nominees is now complete.

Gary Cecil of Daviess County, Kenny Imel of Greenup County, and Ray Allan Mackey of Hardin County are the finalists for this year’s prestigious award.

KFB initiated a “Farmer of the Year” awards program as a way to recognize its members for their commitment to excellence in agriculture, efficiency in farming practices, sound financial management and outstanding leadership in their county Farm Bureau and other civic organizations.

The award recognizes an individual whose personal efforts not only strengthen the state’s agriculture industry but also demonstrate service and leadership on and off the farm.