The National Sorghum Producers board of directors has elected new officers and appointed one new member to the board.

The moves will go into effect Oct. 1.

Vice-Chairman J.B. Stewart of Keyes, Okla., was elected chairman, while existing chairman Terry Swanson from Walsh, Colo., was re-elected to the board, taking the past chairman position.

James Born, an existing director from Perryton, Texas, was elected to serve as vice chairman for the 2013 fiscal year.

Sam Simmons of Harlingen, Texas, and Greg Krissek of Colwich, Kan., were re-appointed to the board after their previous terms expired. The NSP board also welcomes new director Blake Tregellas of Perryton, Texas, who replaces Daniel Krienke whose term expired.

NSP extends a heart-felt thank you to Krienke for his long-time dedication to the sorghum industry. He has served on the board of directors since 2000 and was instrumental from a leadership standpoint in the development and passage of the Sorghum Checkoff. He has acted as a voice for his fellow producers countless times in Washington, D.C., and has always lent a helping hand when action was needed. Thank you for your service to the sorghum industry, Dan.


          More from Southeast Farm Press

'Carry' signals grain market sentiments

North Carolina farmer Kendall Hill wins national volunteer award

Here's a recap of where the farm bill now sits

Summit to highlight bioenergy opportunities for South Carolina farmers