Nitrogen and phosphorus arrive in Chesapeake Bay from the 64,000 square mile watershed.

The activities of more than 13.6 million people in the watershed have overwhelmed the Bay with nutrients from sewage treatment plants, industry, agricultural fields, lawns and the atmosphere. Farm fertilizers and animal manure come in by rainwater runoff.

Four experts will look at the water quality data and political drivers that shape the future of agricultural nutrient management in the Chesapeake Bay watershed during a free webcast Friday, Feb. 18. The water quality in the Bay has improved, but there are shortfalls in goals and areas targeted for improvement.

Policies are changing for agricultural and non-agricultural sources of nutrients and sediment in the watershed. The speakers will give an update on the Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) policy and how the six states in the watershed are helping to meet water quality targets. The webcast speakers will begin with watershed-wide issues and end with how policies may impact producers on smaller sub-watersheds.

The webcast begins at 2:30 p.m. Eastern Time (1:30 p.m. Central, 12:30 p.m. Mountain, 11:30 a.m. Pacific). The 75-minute webcast is free and part of eXtension’s Livestock and Poultry Environmental Learning Center monthly webcast series.